Hello everyone

Visitors and Residents can ask Questions about Omaha here

Moderators: Coyote, nebugeater, Brad, Omaha Cowboy, BRoss

halljul
New to the Neighborhood

Hello everyone

Post by halljul »

Hello everyone,

I am new to this board and will hopefully one day be new to the area as I have a job interview coming up in a few weeks at omaha childrens.  my wife and I will be flying out there memorial day weekend for me to interview and have contacted a real estate agent to show us around the area while we are out there so we could get a feel for the area.  We are trying to find out what the best areas for younger families to live in.  I am 28 and my wife is 25.  we have a 2 year old and one on the way.  My wife is a high school science teacher and i am a nurse.  we currently live in Birmingham, AL. and were both born and raised in Alabama.  
We love the small towns and hate that we will be moving away from the South, wherever we move.  My mother lived in Nebraska many years ago when my grandfather was stationed in the Air Force base near omaha.  she said she loved the area.  
We know the realtors cant tell us bad areas to stay away from but we asked him to show us areas he would be comfortable living in and leaving his family alone at night in.  This being said, which areas would you suggest?  We are not partiers and do not need a big bar/club scene.  we like restaurants, quiet close knit communities, good church offerings, etc...

Thanks in advance!

Post by Guest »

Depends on your budget. Memorial - Dundee - Country Club and Field Club are safe, family neighborhoods but will likely be more expensive. Neighborhoods around Elmwood and Aksarben are also nice and won't be as expensive.

You also have many options further west which will be more suburban in nature.
joeglow
Planning Board

Post by joeglow »