Garbage pickup

The Political decisions of Omaha.

Moderators: Coyote, nebugeater, Brad, Omaha Cowboy, BRoss

mrjrclark
New to the Neighborhood

Garbage pickup

Post by mrjrclark »

I would like to know how exactly garbage pickup in Omaha works.  I am a new resident to Omaha, living between Maple and Fort and 144th and 156th (Westen Hills).  I clearly live in the Omaha area, pay Omaha taxes, but I am not covered under the current contract between Omaha and Deffenbaugh.  Every time I try to get information from Deffenbaugh and/or anyone in Omaha, they all tell me that I am basically SOL when it comes to garbage pickup because the contract between the two parties does not include my area.  I would like to know how the contract is decided upon, when negations are usually done, if the public has any say in this matter, and how the parties decide upon what parts of Omaha get the privilege of payed for garbage removal and which parts are left to pick up their own trash service.  Any light that can be shed on this subject for me would be greatly appreciated.
Brad
City Council

Post by Brad »

According to the city's website, Westin Hills has not been annexed yet.  Only Tory Pines, Westpoint, and the Home Depot in that square mile have been annexed.
mrjrclark
New to the Neighborhood

Post by mrjrclark »

Thank you for the quick response, but as far as I was aware, I am in the city limits of Omaha, therefore the area that I live in shouldn't need to be annexed.  From what I understand from the definition of the word annex, it is to add to or improve upon.  To "add" us to Omaha is to say that I do not live within the city's limits.  To annex us is to say that we are not a part of Omaha, yet I still pay Omaha taxes.  Where do I do I live then?
Big E
City Council

Post by Big E »

What do your neighbors do?
Stable genius.
Brad
City Council

Post by Brad »

I agree with Big E, what do you neighbors do?

According to the map, you live in Douglas County:
mrjrclark