Photography Ethics

Share your photographs and videos taken from around the metro

Moderators: Coyote, nebugeater, Brad, Omaha Cowboy, BRoss

Anne112
New to the Neighborhood

Photography Ethics

Post by Anne112 »

Something happened to me a few days ago in downtown Omaha. I have had traumatic life events happen to me lately, so I was crying walking in an area with no one around on my way to the downtown area.
I wasn't having a fit, just crying to myself, so Im surprised anyone noticed. I see a car with some young adults stop at the building in front of me, so I was going to cross the street. I just decided to compose myself and look away. This arrogant, self absorbed, insensitive girl dressed like Punky Brewster or trying to accomplish that "artsy" look I guess..with a camera starts pointing a camera and when I gave her a nasty look, her friends (dressed conservatively) looked embarassed and apologized. Being a photographer myself, I saw her take the photo and hear the clicks. I don't believe I looked homeless and was dressed in conservative JCrew/Gap style. I did not want to stand out, and I definitely did NOT want my photo taken at that time. My question is: Do you think it is ethical to photograph people without their consent? Especially if they have fallen on hard times? I have no respect for people who do this, and it really shows me they are more concerned about their career and image instead of showing sensitivity to their subjects.
Coyote
City Council

Re: Photography Ethics

Post by Coyote »

Good question. Even the Paparazzi have been taken to court over ethical lines (taking pictures of famous people's kids), but when you are in the public, I think anything is fair game (unless you are Randy Johnson in NY) ... even if you are on private property and the picture is taken from a public place. The only other recent case has been taking pictures on National Parks endangered(?) areas (can't remember the exact locations...) for commercial uses.
Anne112